robothead

Flash and Unity development

5 Minute Cities Revisited

Posted by robotheadgames on September 16, 2014

It’s been a while since I made one of these. Past entries in this series are here and here. As the linked YouTube tutorial from the first post explains, you can make these in 5 minutes. (Or a bit longer.) Using Bryce, which, while old, is very, very cheap (used to be free) and has nice, powerful tools for creating lighting and atmosphere. It’s no longer supported on Mac and won’t run in newer versions of OSX. Windows 8 is fine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

…Default view with preset and tweaked atmospheres. More views:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like making them look more stylized and cartoonish. The very blue one reminds me of 16-bit city backdrops. I may use these for a shooter or perhaps a new version of my Funky Robot game. (The first game I ever made!)

Leave a comment